George and Dragon, Clifton

This is a review from my first blog. I will certainly be returning to the George and Dragon soon, so look out for a new review.

Last Christmas my best friend, knowing my love of food, gave me a gift voucher for a local restaurant. I visited the said restaurant with my girlfriends to sample its wares.

The George and Dragon, Clifton

George and Dragon, Clifton

I have never been to this pub and restaurant before and I now can’t believe it has taken me so long to go.

The George and Dragon, Clifton describes itself as an “informal pub that oozes country style, whilst remaining somewhere to relax and unwind.”

Right on the doorstep of the Lowther estate, the pub and restaurant owned by the Lowther family, sources produce from the estate and local area.

The beef, pork and lamb on the menu are reared on the estate and the game is sourced on the estates woods and moors. Seasonal meats such as partridge, pheasant and duck come from local gamekeepers and are often featured on the special’s list.

Most of the vegetables and fruit are grown in the kitchen gardens and local suppliers are used for anything that can’t be grown or reared on the estate.

Charles Lowther, said: “I take huge pride in the quality of produce on the Lowther Estates and being able to offer people the opportunity to experience and enjoy all it has to offer is wonderful. It’s important for people to know where their food comes from and we can give them not only all the answers but also a place to experience the heritage of the area.

“And best of all it’s helping to support the local economy. It’s not just the food that is locally sourced: the building materials used to restore the 18th century coaching inn all come from the surrounding area and everyone who helped create the pub as it is today are local.”

On entering the George and Dragon it is easy to see why it is so popular in the area. The 18th century coaching house is beautifully restored and sensitively furnished, providing a comfortable environment to drink or eat.

The log burning stoves provide lovely warmth from the harsh wintry wind and you are instantly greeted by a member of staff.

The menu is a feast for the eyes and I found myself yearning for either pork chops, roast beef or a venison burger.

I decided on the roast beef after a long two weeks or turkey, and I was delighted when it arrived.

Roast Beef

The roast beef was in a league of its own. It was amazing. It was beautifully cooked with a slight pinkness. It was succulent, thickly sliced and incredibly tasty. The roast potatoes were crispy and the potato was fluffy. The gravy was delicious. The Yorkshire pudding was definitely homemade and was of ample size.

The greens were the most surprising element to the dish. I must admit that I am not a fan of my greens, especially cabbage. I usually do anything to avoid it. However, when I saw them, I thought I’ll just give them a try. I was pleasantly surprised. They were beautiful. The beans had a slight crunch and the cabbage was flavoursome and didn’t have that watery taste I usually associate with it.

For lunch, a main was extremely filling but I had heard that the desserts are to die for. So seeing as I was on my holidays I thought I’d throw the boat out, make a little room and worry about the calories later.

After a recommendation of sticky toffee pudding, I decided to choose it. I certainly wasn’t disappointed. A thick, rich square of sticky toffee exquisiteness with a toffee sauce and a small scoop of ice-cream disappeared in a matter of moments. The best sticky pudding I have ever had.

Sticky toffee pudding

I tasted a little of my friend Kirsty’s crème brulée. The vanilla pods were visible in the vanilla custard and it tasted light and creamy. It wasn’t overly sweet and broke beautifully on tapping. It was presented creatively on a piece of slate in a ramekin accompanied with shortbread biscuits and blueberries.

Smiles all around

All in all, this pub/restaurant provided a delightful dining experience. The service was friendly, prompt and not at all overbearing. The food was beautiful and for a little more money is ideal for a special occasion. It is also a perfect place to go for a drink after a countryside walk.

Have you been to the George and Dragon, what did you think? Please leave comments below.

About atasteofcumbria

I am a real foody! I have a great passion for food. I am obsessed with collecting new recipes to try out and experimenting with my own recipes. I enjoy visiting restaurants and critiquing my dining experiences.
This entry was posted in reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment